How it all started

How it all started

Introduction

According to a Chinese proverb I came across,

“Failure is not falling but refusing to get up”

This sums up my tech journey so far. I settled within myself that I am allowed to get tired, feel overwhelmed once in a while and rest but giving up is not an option.

If I were to present a list of times when I felt extremely tired, having my Final application for the Summer cohort of Outreachy Internship rejected would definitely make that list. I contributed to the UNICEF Innovation project during this round. In my field, like others, you always see the wins but not the numerous losses that led to them. This is me putting a loss I believe will motivate me ( and hopefully someone else also) on my down times.

I am super grateful for the experience I had, the people I networked with and the numerous lessons I learned from my mentors. I will keep them close as I give Outreachy another try.

Outreachy Internship Winter cohort

Update:

I got the internship on my second try! So the lesson is to keep pushing and not give up.

If you are considering applying for Outreachy, need information about it or want to have a chat about Accessibility or Open-source contribution, please reach out to me. I would love to help.